The RANT! #1 (NSFW)

March 16, 2015 § Leave a comment

What has has happened to photography? I mean, what the fuck has happened to fine art photography?

I’m tired. I’m tired and I’m fed up of hearing about f stops, apertures and shutter speeds. To me it is all completely irrelevant. Always has been. Always will be.

You have Peter Lik, a man who literally calls himself “God” and describes himself as “one of the most important artists of the 21st Century” selling landscapes to his hedge-fund buddies, that frankly, wouldn’t look out of place on a Windows 98 desktop…

Now, I’m not here to criticize other photographers – far from it. It’s just that I’m fed up with tired, old landscape photographs professing to be fine art. I’m tired of all the technology chat and it makes my blood boil to hear a graduate talking about which camera they should or shouldn’t buy.

Take it all – all of that stuff. Destroy it. Destroy it with creativity and context. Because, surely that’s the “fine art”? I don’t care if people shoot with a disposable camera, an iPhone or a Hassleblad but I want to see narrative. I want to see context, but most importantly of all, I need to see creativity.

Don’t get me wrong, there are photographers out there that I love, that I’m jealous of, but they’re all sinking in a sea of mediocre, old photographers who claim to be producing “fine art”.

I realise this opens up the debate of“what is fine art”. I also realise that is a question that would fill up pages because there is no real answer. But surely, we can all agree, that the one thing “fine art” has to have is creativity? It is creativity that is the freedom of expression – and creativity should never be judged by pounds or dollars because that’s fundamentally flawed. Creativity is the art forms very soul. Without it, it is empty. Empty and redundant.

I’m tired. I’m tired and I’m fed up. I’m tired, and I’m fed up and I’m bored. Bored of Peter Lik, tired of an industry mascarading as fine art and fed up with the people who buy into it all.

For the love of God (not Peter Lik) please, please, please give us creativity and context before a whole industry is on it’s knees with no identity what so ever…

Yes, I know this has been a rant. Yes,I know a lot will disagree. But… it’s my column.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The RANT! #1 (NSFW) at Carl Beebee Photography.

meta

